Some people think that public health is the responsibility of government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Health has always been a cause of concern for every society and it is believed by some individuals that government should be responsible for the public health and well-being, but others are of the different view according to them it is their personal choice. This essay will focus on both the views and according to my opinion there should be combined effort by both the authorities and individual. It is the duty of the government to provide its citizen with good living standard and public health is one of the major responsibility of the authorities for which it should encourage the people to adopt healthy lifestyle by spreading awareness through advertisement on billboards, digital advert etc. Government should subsidized the rate of nutritional food and charge heavy taxes on junk food to discourage unhealthy eating, moreover it should create more playground and parks for the people and install exercise equipment in public grounds. For e. g. Authorities should organize the seminars and provide free consultation to people on major health issue due to sedantry lifestyle. However, on the other hand some people are of the opposite view as per their opinion government should not be held responsible for the public health it is personal choice of individual to decide what to eat and what not to eat and their freedom of choice should not be controlled by others and government have other major issues at the hand to tackle apart from creating the rules for the eating habit of the citizen, but due to awareness among people they have become more concerned about their health then before and taking steps for the same. To conclude, according to my opinion both the government and individual should be held responsible for the public health and they should work in coordination to bring the changes in the health standards and eating habits, authorities should encourage people for healthy eating and exercise regime through awareness campaing and individual should follow the strict rule for their betterment.