As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment.

People usually purchase more cars when a nation progresses. In my opinion, this could be advantages for them as it is convenient and useful in daily use but also has few drawbacks to be taken into account. Admittedly, there are some obvious benefits of buying a car. Firstly, it is very convenient to use when you have a big family. For example, if a family is consists of four to five people, it oftens becomes difficult to travel together from one place to another. Public transport might be a solution but not all the times Hence if a family of more than five members buys a car, they can comfortably move where ever needed. Secondly, cars can be used in harsh climate especially during summer when the temperature is extremely hot. Since air conditioners can be installed in cars, one can avoid the heat outside. Thus, one can protect themselves from the from the weather. Nevertheless, there are some crucial disadvantages which cannot be ignored. One of the main disadvantages is the effect of smoke emitted of the cars and other vehicles. These gases rises in the air and causes air pollution. This will not only harm the respiratory system of people but also has serious effects on the environment. Due to the rising level of pollution in air, the ozone layer, which protects us from sun's harmful rays, is becoming thin. The other vital drawback is the congestion which is caused with the increase in the number of cars on roads. Heavy congestion on roads creates major difficulties for people. For example, extreme traffic on roads causes delay for an ambulance to reach hospital on time. As a result, the patient might lose his life. To conclude, I think though we have many benefits with cars but the drawbacks such as pollution and congestion are more important than the advantages.