Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Letter, the main mode of communication during the 20th century, has been replaced by modern communication channels such as mobile, emails, etc and hence it is no longer necessary to write letters. This essay agrees with the above mentioned argument. We will first discuss the reasons for letters becoming a necessity and then delve into the reasons for modern communication replacing letters as a necessity. Before the 20th century, due to lack of other options, letters were the primary source of information exchange between individuals, parties, companies, etc. It was the only channel of communication, through which, information could be shared over longer distances. For example, one could reach out to relatives living in other countries through letters. Since telephones were really costy entailing great loss or sacrifice costly cosy crusty, hence, the only choice left for communication was letters. But, with the introduction of modern communication channels such as mobile, emails, etc continuing in the same way etc., letters started losing their position of prime importance. Due to issues such as longer time of travel between recepients a person who receives something recipients, human errors involved in transportation and cost, letters soon lost their importance. For example, instead of writing a letter and waiting for a response from the receipient a person who receives something recipient, which might take weeks, one can easily call over a mobile or write an email and get an instantaneous response. Also, the cost associated with modern communication channels reduced significantly over the years. To sum up, letters were necessary during older times because of lack of other options. But, with new technology entering our daily life and being able to be much cheaper than letters, letters have been replaced as being the necessary channel for information exchange.