In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that nowadays many people prefer reading books online to buying traditional ones. While I accept that e- books may have some drawbacks, I believe that they are more likely to have positive influences. On the one hand, it has been scientifically proven that this type of reading experience may bring about a number of health concerns. Staring at digital screens for a prolonged period of time would certainly cause eyestrains, headaches, and blurry vision and its long-term effects could be even worse. Furthermore, books can be easily shared in digital forms compared to paper ones. This could directly affect the rights of the authors and publishers, leading to decrease in the sale of books. However, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by their benefits. Firstly, reading and buying books online can be time-saving and convenient. Now, there is no need to wander from one store to another in search of a book when we can simply find and pay for them through virtual banks and enjoy reading immediately. Secondly, online books offer much lower prices compared to paper books, meaning that readers can buy books they love and still have more money for other things. Digital books also have positive impacts on the environment. The more digital books people read, the fewer paper books are produced, which means many trees would be saved from being cut down. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of e- books are more significant than the possible drawbacks.