Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweighs the advantages?

Foods purchased in markets and supermarkets contain preservatives and this has been a major source of concern to humans because of its danger. In my opinion, the drawbacks such as the detrimental effect on one's health supersedes any benefit it poses. Admittedly, the basic advantage of using preservatives such as colours in food is to improve the appearance. In other words, without the using colour in food production, the products will not be presentable and appealing for consumption to the public. Also, another prime benefit of using chemicals is that it helps to improve the shelf life of the product. To put in another way, without additives there will be accelerated rate of spoilage of food materials, hence, resulting in the degradation of the food product. For example, after the UK government banned the use of chemical in 2016 there was a rapid degradation of food materials in the stores, and the manufacturers attributed this occurrence to the ban of the chemicals essential for preserving the raw materials. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe that humans face serious drawbacks from the use of these chemicals. One potentially dangerous problem is its detrimental effect on human health. As a result, consumption of these products leads to life threatening illnesses such as liver failure, cancer, asthma. Consequently, increasing death rate and shortening life span. For example, the reported use of "sniper" a product containing permethrin - a chemical that should not be used in food products in eradicating pests in beans in the city of Kano, there was a resultant increase in liver diseases, visits to the hospital following its consumption. In conclusion, despite the benefit of prolonged shelf life using chemicals confer, it's reported disadvantage voids any advantage. It is highly recommended that the government increases the availability of organic produce in order to improve quality of lives of the population.