In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In Britain, government spends money to take care of residents in retirement homes. However, some people belong to the opinion that this expenditure should be borne by the families itself. I am in accord with this group, and the factors leading to my opinion are described below. There are many reasons why family is responsible to look after older people, and the most pivot one being that the grownups might have suffered too much hardship in their lives to engender their offspring. Therefore, it is the duty of progenies to take care of their parents, rather than letting them spend their declining years in any old age homes. For example, Majority of the Indian families are following a culture of taking complete responsibilities of their progenitors. Results of annual surveys conducted by the ministry of human resources development in India, shows older people are enjoying the happiness in spending their remaining life with their children. Secondly, governments are already budgeting too much money for the benefit of civilians, in many ways, like free education, free hospital care, and public transports. Moreover, some countries facilitate them with an income after retirement, in the form of pension, for the welfare of older people. Take the example of gulf countries, where government provides an amount of cash monthly to older citizens, while their families look after them from illness at home. So, there is no need of spending additional money for nursing these oldies. To sum up, it is clear that families should meet the expenses for the treatment of older people. And my opinion is well supported by the facts that governments are already spending enough money for the well-being of elderly people, and families held moral responsibilities to look after their old members of the family.