In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Pollution is an all-time high problem faced by world nations and plastic is one of the major causes. As plastic carry bags, mainly from shops, contribute a major portion of waste getting dumped in many countries, most of such nations have policies to stop the usage of these bags. I totally agree with those rules considering the detrimental effects it can cause to nature. To begin with, the main reason behind the ban of synthetic bags is that these materials do not decompose like organic materials. Therefore, authorities find it difficult to manage or recycle such waste. Secondly, the people start to obliterate plastic waste by burning them, which in turns pollute water and soil in their locality. For instance, annual environmental studies of Britian show that sea water are mainly polluted with inorganic carry bags thrown by beach strollers. Since, water, land and air are the main resources for the existence of life, it is high time to save them from getting polluted by imposing a ban on plastic. Furthermore, In some countries, shopping bags, made up of other bio-degradable materials like clothes, or low-quality plastic, is available which can be easily disposed without creating any atmospheric pollution. For example, in a mass-populated country like India, shoppers use paper cover to carry their items after shopping. Along with a ban on plastic, the India government has also implemented subsidies to encourage the manufacturing of paper bags. To sum up, in my opinion plastic shopping bags should be banned across the globe, considering the huge increase of such garbage in next few years. I would suggest people to depend on alternate methods to carry along for shopping, also not to try burning plastics.