Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, numerous high schools all over the world have added free community service programs as a main part of their education discipline. Although there are some commentators who believe that youth participation in these services should be always a personal option, I strongly adopt the opinion that it should be an obligatory part of the whole education process. Firstly, adolescents who participate in the charity work, improving the neighborhood a surrounding or nearby region neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children, gain great experience, knowledge and moral values that will significantly influence their future studies in college or their careers. Furthermore, a lot of individuals in the society will have better access to the services offered by the community through those ambitious and active students. Lastly, the government could save money that can be allocated to other services such as the construction of roads, hospitals, and other projects. On the other hand, a strong argument can be made on the opposite side. To begin with, opponents think that these free activities might delay secondary school students from joining the college. In addition, many high school students need to work to save money for their university study, and in this case, they won’t be able to achieve something like that. Moreover, due to the fact that high school students have to study a lot of subjects, so, the free services become a compulsory pack. And eventually will burden the students. In conclusion, the advantages of mandatory community service in school outweigh any disadvantages associated with it. After studying the pros and cons, I am convinced that community service helps the overall development of the child and subsequently the nation.