In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is a fact that a growing number of people choose to live alone or in the nuclear family, rather than in the traditional extended family groups. This trend has introduced both positive and negative aspects because of the benefits and drawbacks have been brought to human life. On the one hand, it is clear that the new living pattern would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it offers more privacy and personal space for individuals, many students and professionals would opt to live alone or with a small group of peers while attending university or working. Living independently allows more freedom to plan one’s schedule, lifestyle and social activities without being interfered with by family members. Furthermore, small family units, represented by both parents with one child or two, also present more opportunities for family members to interact with and care for each other. Living in extended families, on the contrary, distracts the parents’ attention from their children and is not helpful to the youngsters’ education. On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, living separately results in the reduction of communication between family members, which may bring about feelings of loneliness and homesickness. That situation can become worse if an individual has to face enormous stress or struggle with some kinds of health problems without any support from relatives. Second, in nuclear families, children might grow with insufficient parental care because some parents mostly put their efforts into earning a living for families. As a result, those children could even engage in criminal activities such as illegal drug use. In conclusion, this tendency shows effects on both sides whether it is positive or negative. There are plus points to live alone or in a small family since they offer more personal space to meet personal needs and more communication in the family. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of loneliness and a minus point for nurturing children.