2. It was suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh advantages?

In this fast paced world, technological advancements are lurking most of the people’s minds. The consumerist society of today, are intrigued in buying as much materialistic things as possible. It is very arduous to find a person without owning a car, TV or a fridge. This materialistic interest that people have, has various merits as well as demerits. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of the same. First and foremost, the increasing interest that people have towards owning a TV, car or a fridge has a negative impact on the environment. As this materialistic aspect in people is associated with reduced interest in reusing things, the amount of industrial waste dumped each year double folds. Apart from this, the interest towards owning vehicles can hike the level of pollution. The heap of technological wastes dumped in urban areas is an example of the effect of owning materialistic things can have on the environment in a long run. In a nutshell, I would like to reiterate my opinion that the increasing interest that people have towards owning a car, fridge or a TV has more demerits than merits. The negative impact the some can have on the environment is one disadvantage. Diseases from sedentary lifestyles offered by it adds on to the above said demerit.