Many elderly people are no longer looked after their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the disadvantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many senior citizens today are being taken care by retirement homes instead of their families. Elderly people can greatly benefit from this as they can be looked after by professionals and they can have easy access to drugs and medical equipment but there are also disadvantages to consider. On the one hand, there are some advantages to bringing the seniors into nursing homes. Firstly, these people can be taken care safely and professionally by the medical staffs. Medical professionals who are employed in these homes are highly educated and trained for giving care and service to the elderly. Secondly, being in retirement homes is advantageous because drugs and emergency apparatuses are accessible to the elderly individuals. Due to their high tendency to acquire fatal infections, older adults are required to be in a facility that could monitor them and supply their medicinal needs. This could help them increase recovery time and improve their health. On the other hand, one problem of putting the elderly population in the care homes is that it increases their risk for depression. Many of these patients do not easily adapt to their new surroundings that their conditions tend to deteriorate, leading them to have more complicated symptoms. Another possible issue is that as the numbers of the elderly patients grow the demand of healthcare inclines as well. Nurses, for instance, are greatly affected by this as they need to work extra hours with more patient care, but they don’t get a salary increment. If this continues, it could lead to burn out and lesser motivation to nurses, decreasing the quality of health service. In conclusion, while the seniors can benefit from being brought to retirement homes, it can also lead to depression and decreased health care excellence.