In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that governments should spend more money on developing bullet and metro rail facilities, while others support the idea of spending money on upgrading current public transport system. This essay analyses these viewpoints in the following paragraphs and concludes with my opinion. To begin with, many people support the plan of investing in intercity rail networks because they save their valuable time. To explain it further, these types of trains run faster than any other public transportation facilities. They stop only at major stations and hence they are not delayed like passenger trains. This makes them a boon for super busy business professionals who cannot afford to be held up in traffic. On the other hand, improving / upgrading the current government owned transportation methods could also solve the issue of possible traffic blocks in towns. That means if public transport is reliable more and more people will start using it to move around the cities for shopping and entertainment. If the government could properly maintain the present modes of transport, many people will stop using their own vehicles because public transportation is always cheap and affordable. This way, the traffic jams caused by private vehicles on the road can also be reduced to a great extent. In conclusion, the government should invest in both fast trains and other existing modes of transport because they are both required to ease traffic congestion in the cities.