Some people believe that unpaid community services should be part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to the younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that voluntary services like charity, cleaning the neighbourhood, imparting knowledge to the underprivileged, should be made mandatory in the curriculum. I strongly agree to this as it not only helps in students becoming socially responsible adults but also in shaping their character. The social services are important to the society as it helps to improve the interactions between the people. The services which are less industrious can be given to students, which they could complete with ease. This helps the society to find manpower to do such tasks and thereby reducing the financial burden they could have caused because of the higher labour costs. Deprived people can also get benefited from these because they can avail services like training in sports without paying money, which would help them to grow and get better lives. Schools should include these in the curriculum to force the students to be part of any such activities, even though this might seems unnecessary to the students and their parents. They get many benefits from these programmes such as experience in verities of works, improves their social awareness, helps to understand the needs of the time and find solutions for the same. These services can be made unpaid because the benefits outweigh the wages they could get from these tasks. In conclusion, although compulsory voluntary community service has its drawbacks, it is still useful in shaping a child as a socially responsible citizen and also in their overall personality development. Therefore, pupils should be encouraged to involve themselves in such activities.