Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Most of the recruiters often ask their applicants certain questions related to their personal interests and background. Many of us believe such questions are related to the jobs we are applying for, while some believe they are irrelevant. In my view, it is important that the hiring organisation knows our personal details as long as they use them appropriately. It is important for the organisation to collect such data about their prospective employees. If the hiring manager knows that one is married, or enjoys a hobby, it helps them in decisions such as deployment of that particular staff to remote locations or to projects that might be related to their interests. For instance, if your recruiter knows you love soccer and there is a project in the company that involves visits to soccer stadiums, then it helps him in involving you in that project as it motivates you and also, benefits the company. Some might argue that such details about oneself is not relevant when it come to the hiring organisation. This is because of the fear of misuse of such data and possible problems that might arise if they are not maintained confidentially. For example, if your personal information is accessible to someone who is trying to compete with you, he/ she might use it against you. To conclude, personal details of the applicant play an important role in decision making for the employers. Although, they can be a threat to the job seeker at times, if not managed confidentially.