Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individuals responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The surge of sugar consumption is becoming prevalent everywhere. Some argue that the government should control the increase of sugary product consumptions. In my opinion, I believe it is an individual's power to limit their sugar intake by alternate healthy methods. On the one hand, a large number of people believe the government should create laws that prohibit the product adverts with high sugar contents. Nevertheless, they believe this will prevent people from buying such products or being aware of them, since they are not informed about it. Also, this will encourage people to concentrate more on organic products. In addition, if the authority can heavily tax such products, this will discourage a large proportion of the population from patronising such products. Buying products with low sugar level will further be encouraged. All this will increase the well being of the population. However, the bulk of the work is on each individual to have power over their health. This can be done by monitoring diets as the authorities cannot closely monitor what is consumed by the population. It is required for each person to take foods low in sugar, especially fruits and vegetables which are good for the health. Additionally, sports can be taken as a hobby to improve the lifestyle of a person, this also cannot be enforced by the government. Performing some light aerobics like physical exercise, and walking for a few minutes daily will contribute a great deal to the overall mental health. In conclusion, despite the fact that the government may need to impose some restrictions on sugary products, it is also the responsibility of the masses to take control of their health by monitoring their food intake and participating in recreational activities. In my opinion, each human being has the final authority over their health and not the authority in charge.