Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as the Olympic Games and world cup competitions have played an increasingly important role in our society. However, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. Do you agree?

Sports like Olympic Games and world cups have played a significant role in our community over the past half century, but, at the same time, some individuals consider these events as a waste of cash, time and hard work. In my opinion, I agree with this statement, because these resources can be used to provide better education and healthcare services. State’s resources should be carefully distributed and used. Wasting these on sports, instead of providing quality education for the citizens is not correct. Firstly, Governments should open more schools with better staff and equipment. In addition, they should provide scholarships for its people’s higher teaching. It is learning, and not games, which help a country, grow. For example, all the schools in Mumbai were closed down for the Asian Games in India, which affected the educational year of the students. On the other hand, effort and money should be invested in the health care set up. More hospitals should be built with highly qualified doctors and staff. If the government cannot take care of the needs of its citizen, there is not point of spending on the sports activities. For example, the budget for cricket is 5 times more than the health in Pakistan. Therefore, heath should be the priority. In conclusion, although world cups and Olympic Games have played an essential role in our society over the past fifty years. In my opinion, however, more hard work, time and finances should be used to increase the quality of the education and the health care in the country.