Some people say students of different age groups in school should be put in the same class? What is your opinion?

Some people believe that students of different ages should be taught in the same class. I certainly disagree with this idea as the learning capacity of students varies with age. Older children have higher cognitive skills which make it possible for them to grasp advanced concepts relatively easily. For example, a ten year old can grasp things more easily than a five year old and hence if they are taught together neither will benefit. If the lessons are tweaked to suit the learning capacity of the younger students, the older students will gain nothing from attending the class. By contrast, if the lessons are designed for the seniors in the class, the juniors will not understand anything. In short, neither will benefit from this arrangement. Another disadvantage of teaching students of different ages in the same class is that it will unnecessarily expose the juniors in the class to the bad habits of seniors. For example a survey in the UK revealed that 80% of young students are bullied by seniors and are forced to try drugs in schools. This peer pressure can push a child into various illegal activities which they will not commit if they are studying with students of their age. To sum up, putting students of different ages in the same class is not a good idea, as it can affect a child’s learning skills and may also expose them to things that are not appropriate for their age. Hence, it is recommended that schools consider the age while enrolling students into different classes.