Due to the low cost of flights, many people are choosing to holiday abroad rather than have holidays in their own country. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this.

Flight journey, which was a luxury once, has become an affordable commodity, at least to most of the middle classed people, due to which many are opting to spend vacations in foreign countries rather than their own. I shall examine both positive and negative shades of this in the following paragraphs. There are two main advantages of foreign tours. Firstly, the tourism of the country is promoted. The question is how? It is a well-known fact that advertising through word of mouth has more impact, hence, if more tourists visit; more and accurate information is spread across the world about the place, eventually resulting in more visitors. Secondly, aspirants who had only visualised far distant places virtually can now go and see them physically. The world is really becoming small. There are also some disadvantages which we must not ignore. First one is, with people looking out for more holidays in abroad, the local travel business is diminishing. And the other is, due to higher frequencies of the flights between the countries, the possibility of causing pollution is also at rise. This may result in a greater impact on our environment, especially on ozone layer; not now but in the forthcoming days. In conclusion, one cannot deny the fact that the reduction in air fare has definitely brought in greater fortunes for holiday-business industry and made the world tiny for travellers, but, we must also not forget the repercussions it brings in with respect to the environment and regional tourism.