nformation technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benifits of IT outweigh the disadvantages.

Information technology has grown inadvertently in the last 2. It is altering the day-to-day activities of our routine life. Software technology has made living easy and entertaining. Meanwhile, it is making people lazy. This essay will discuss why the merits of artificial intelligence supersede the associated demerits. Advantages are plenty. Firstly, customers can buy groceries and garments of different brands as well as qualities just by pressing a single button, sitting indoors. In addition, for relaxation and entertainment, an individual can log into YouTube or online gaming websites to spend some time. Moreover, computer science has grown so immensely that employees do their office work without going to actual workplace, by connecting remotely. To exemplify, a recent survey conducted by NASSCOM (National Association of Software and Services Companies) not only shows a 70 percentage increase in the overall online shopping trend in the last 5 years but also exorbitant rise in the number of workers preferring work from home since 2010. Admittedly, there are many benefits that it has become part and parcel of everyone's life, knowingly or unknowingly. However, main concern due to advances in information science is that people are becoming increasingly sluggish. Online shops are used so much that even items such as soap, shampoo and vegetables are e-tailed, even though same products can be purchased from nearby stores. Furthermore, instead of preparing one's food at home, they get it house delivered from their favourite restaurants. For example, according to a news report, more than 70 percent of staff members in Bangalore order lunch online, regardless of having numerous restaurants nearby. Undoubtedly, society is slowly becoming slaves to technology. Application of software systems has increased immensely in everyone's life. To conclude, even though software engineering has few drawbacks, overall it is a positive development.