Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advances in science and technology may lengthen the lifespan of a human to 100 or even 200 years. Some sections in the society hold a positive view that it is beneficial to humanity while others argue that it is not. In my own perception, I agree that it is a good thing in the society. In this contemporary world, people are getting healthier with the help of medical advances and technology. Advances in medical science will not only save peoples’ lives, but will also increase the chance rate of a human to live longer than expected. As a result, this allows people to contribute their passion and talent to the nation. For example, Zhe Shunghao, a talented translator of Shakespeare’s works, passed away at the age of 32 due to illness. If he could live longer, there might be more Chinese versions of Shakespeare and more people could appreciate the Chinese translation art. Despite the benefits, some people, however, argue that it has a negative impact. One problem is that it increases morbidity. It is because people have lived long enough to get age related disease, dementia and dysfunction. This could create a need for further medical advancement and will need a bigger amount of budget to allocate expenditures. A study on the financial impact of longevity by the International Monetary Fund says a growing aging population creates financial risks for governments and private pension providers as well as individuals themselves. In conclusion, expanding a human lifespan may have some negative impact on the society; its advantages outweigh the advantages. In my opinion, it is a positive development as one can enjoy the later life.