Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected personal relationships? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Interactions between people today have greatly varied due to the technological advances that are continually happening. These changes, especially in personal relationships, such as the long distance and faster communication, are greatly benefiting the individuals positively. A good reason why technological changes in communication have been beneficial to the relationship of individuals is that it allowed people working abroad to communicate with their loved ones. Many gadgets and mobile applications nowadays made this development possible. For instance, the use of Skype in cell phones or laptops, gave opportunity for overseas workers to make video calls and chat with their family members. This has helped them combat homesickness and thus, assisted them to work productively and support the needs of their families while connecting with them with them internationally. Another point to consider concerning the effects of technology on personal interactions is that it made communications quick and easy. Before the technological advances happened, snail mail and in-person conversation were the most popular form of sending a message, it took time and effort for people to wait for responses. However, due to the modern technology, many can now talk or respond to messages immediately, through phone calls or emails. For instance, friends can now call each other to invite one another for parties or just a regular get together. As a result, this has made communication more convenient, making relationships among people more comfortable. To conclude, the changes in personal relationships due to technological advances are benefiting individuals in a positive way, especially with maintaining relationships and by relating to others comfortably.