Some people think that excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenagers’ literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by a few individuals that extreme usage of mobile phones has detrimental effects on adolescent’s education. I completely agree with this statement. This essay will explain 2 fundamental reasons to illustrate how addiction to mobiles is causing a damaging effect on young children's academic scores. Firstly, excess usage of cell phone is causing physical health problems, and thereby, affecting children’s academic performance. Although youngsters are cautioned by elders, about the negative ramifications produced by this gadget, children are still desperate to use them as they enjoy playing games and accessing social media. Moreover, many children are sacrificing sleep in order to spend more time with the gadget. As a result, youngsters are prone to various health problems such as loss of eye visibility, fatigue, obesity, etc. Thereby, they are unable to concentrate on academics and hence are failing to achieve viable scores. In a recent survey conducted by BBC among young children, it was found that only 50% of students who use mobile frequently were able to achieve average pass marks. On the other hand, 90% of students who do not consume mobile phone are able to achieve the same. Another major concern is that, this is also resulting in mental health issues and thereby indirectly impacting student’s scores. Mobile games these days promote violence and children are certainly attracted to such games due to the thrill that they provide. However, this results in adverse effects on child’s psychological health as the child is constantly exposed to such fierce environment. Although the youngster’s play these games virtually, it is due to human psychology that they get impacted in their daily life due to the illusions that are formed in the brain. For instance, recent news reported that, 1929 teenager’s committed suicide globally as they were deeply involved in playing a game called Pub-G. Also, high performing students who got gradually addicted to this game have failed in the majority of subjects. In conclusion, repeated usage of mobile device renders bad academic scores as students using this gadget get physically and mentally sick. Hence, mobile usage should be limited.