To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

Decisions made on which work of art is the best ought to be with high standards. However, in the recent years, the criteria for choosing good quality art pieces has greatly decreased that the possibility for a regular work of art can now win awards, disregarding the beauty of true arts. In my view, I agree that modern arts have declined its quality assurance because of the changes that happened in the world. Firstly, the evolution of the economy of the society today affected the decision-making with regards to the arts. This is due to the fact that art materials now are more accessible as they are cheaper and convenient to buy. A child, for instance, can make his or her own abstract painting and become popular, though the artwork done is just plain and simple. Secondly, the changes in the roles of individuals have a heavy effect as well on choosing of the quality of prizewinning arts. Unlike before, when men, mostly had the authority to judge a work of art, women in today’s society are now given the same privilege. Due to this, the society’s taste of true art has vastly changed as the perspectives of men and women are very different. Finally, the declined standards for choosing quality art pieces have also resulted from the present generation’s love of pop art. This includes more vivid and bright colours, compared to the past arts, which are more neutral in hues. Due to this, many younger art judges have also varied their opinions about the meaning of art. In conclusion, I believe that there has been a fall in the standard quality of choosing the best art today, mainly because of the changes in the economy, individuals’ roles and generation.