Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the work place. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whatever the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Many people consider that the purpose of tertiary education is to equip the students with necessary information and skills to pursue a professional career, while others are of the view that universities should only impart knowledge to the students, without taking into consideration, their future endeavours. In my opinion, these higher educational institutes represent the final tiers of a proper educational program and hence, should cater for both the professional education, as well as, the knowledge as a whole, because all forms of education eventually help individuals in their future careers. The professional expertise is extremely important for any nation to prosper and survive globally. In other words, in this era of industrialization, technically sound people are required by the employers, with a proper degree certification as a prerequisite to acquire a job. Similarly, the doctors, engineers, IT professionals and other technocrats have to acquire specific degrees and some technical skills to be able to perform their duties well and these are learnt only in a university with complete focus on technical requirements essential for them in their career. It is, therefore, obvious that universities have a crucial role to play in this regard. On the other hand, universities should also cater for the subjects like social sciences and art. This form of learning is extremely essential because it would open new horizons of thought and broaden the minds of a nation. Moreover, it would help develop creativity, an ability to see the other side of the picture, and to think out of the box. All these qualities would also help the students in their professional career, which ever they choose in the future. To conclude, I have a firm believe that universities should not only impart general knowledge but also serve the purpose of producing technically sound individuals, taking into consideration, the requirements of the employers