ocial media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent advancements in technology and science are reshaping our world in an unprecedented manner. It is true that social networking sites have a profound influence on people in these days. While there are few disadvantages of using social media platforms, I believe that the advantages far outweighs it. My essay will discuss the same. On the one side, there are a few drawbacks of social media. The most common issue observed is the online theft. To explain, many social networking sites such as Facebook has introduced e-wallet and money transfer mechanisms recently in which the user has to share his personal bank information. Once the data is shared, even though it is made private, hackers can fetch the information and steal the money from the e-wallet or the bank in a fraction of a second. A recent study by the BBC News revealed that around 350 cases were registered from London alone in the month of July 2019 for online theft on WhatsApp. This is perhaps why certain people think social media cannot be trusted. On the flip side, there are many benefits of social media that outweighs the negatives. To begin with, in the contemporary world, platforms such as Facebook and Instagram serve as a medium of communication. To elaborate, most people travel far apart from their native for either work or study. In order to interact with their parents and friends, a number of internet websites offer free calls and text messaging which is always commendable. To exemplify, studies have shown that people of all ages prefer to use online calls than using the conventional telephone calls. Additionally, online media help people of all ages to be aware of things happening globally. The information about social issues and latest technologies are shared across these websites, which equip people with a wider knowledge. Finally, there is the entertainment factor. People, after stressful work, can surf these sites which relaxes their pressure and create a peaceful mind. These are the major merits of using social media. To conclude, although there are limited disadvantages of social media, in my opinion, the benefits are more significant.