people sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

According to the survey conducted by WHO the average sleep hours of people has decreased by 12% from the recommended hours needed for an individual. This essay discuss on the reasons for the same and its effects on individual and on the society. People sleep less nowadays because of cell phone usage, which has drastically increased over the years, in turn it is quietly squeezing up the sleeping hours that a normal person need for his well being. With the advent of the 21st century, technology has taken giant leaps particularly in terms of communication whose fruits or byproducts are these gadgets which have smartly entered into our life, and playing a crucial role in how we are connected, and interact with each other today. Having said that the downside to it has been its overdose. People have been using these gadgets in a way that compromises and intrudes into their private space. There has been a survey conducted recently by a reputed newspaper daily "The Hindu" which suggests that people's cell phone usage has increased 10% compromising into their private hours gradually depriving them of required hours of sleep to reenergise energise themselves. Sleeping less can pose many risks for people in generally impacting their overall ability to think clearly. WHO has suggested that minimum 8 hours sleep hours required for an individual to remain healthy. There are other health disorders noticed like irritability, attention deficit, hormonal imbalances, which if prolonged for say next 10 to 15 years continuously can create our next progenies who are born with disorders like ATD (Attention Deficit Disorders) which means inability having greater attention span. All these attributes might impact be the society goals of producing evolved human beings in future. Honestly its a high time we look at people well being as the top most priority and for that we as a society must invest our resources in building the necessary infrastructure that will cater to evolve the human consciousness. We might employ scientifically tried and tested methods to achieve these goals like practicing yoga which covers all dimensions that includes mental, emotional and physical.