In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other older people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes, the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In developed countries, it is sometimes argued that family members who have aged citizens living in a care facility should be responsible for their cost of living, while others consider that the government should bear the responsibility. However, in my opinion, I will argue that although families should pay some minor fees, the government should shoulder the bulk of the cost. To begin with, the primary responsibility of any government is the welfare of its citizens, especially the old. This is because many people in their old age are left with few or no relatives, therefore, they have little or no financial support to sustain a good standard of living. In other words, the government should fund the larger cost of living in a home, which provides them with optimum care and a sense of belonging in the society. Moreover, governments usually have more financial resources to help fund housing facilities which ensure its older citizens are taken good care of. This will ensure that older citizens with relatives who are poor will have access to good care. On the other hand, the families of old citizens have a role to play in ensuring that their aged relatives have an accomodation that suit their needs as a sense of duty. Consequently, they can be allowed to pay a subsidized amount of money. This will ensure that they contribute to the welfare of their old ones. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government has a larger role to play in contributing to the cost of funding care homes for its aged citizens because it is their responsibility and they have the means to. Nevertheless, relatives of older people should also bear some financial responsibilities too.