Some people think high-end technology can prevent and cut down the rate of committing crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancements have changed the nature of crime prevention. A number of people believe that cutting-edge technology can play an effective role in fighting against crime, and reduce the crime rates. I completely agree with this view and I think that a state-of-the-art technology can be a great instrument of crime prevention strategies. How can high-end technology help the governments to fight against crime? First of all, many governments now are considerably benefiting from the latest technological developments such as surveillance systems and drones. Surveillance systems and drones, which can be acted as a crime deterrent, have become two of the most-preferred and effective technologies to fight against crime in 21th century. For example, after the huge investment of surveillance technologies in 2016, China government reduced the rate of committing crime by 23% in the following year. Therefore, it is clearly seen that modern technological tools can deter people from committing a crime. Secondly, some governments use other cutting-edge technologies to prevent crime. Crime mapping technology, which help criminals to detect quickly in a massive database is one of the latest technologies in crime prevention. Such a technology can refrain potential criminals from committing a crime. They are aware of the fact that they can be caught by the police department, which use crime mapping technology if they commit a crime. For instance, the homicide rate in Iceland has been decreased by up to 95% and Iceland, today, has become the safest country in the world. In conclusion, technological advancements can help police departments to prevent a crime. Modern digital technologies such as surveillance cameras, drones, and crime mapping technology can play a major role in preventing crime and deter potential criminals from crime.