These days, we are seeing an increasing amount of violence on television, and this is having a negative impact on children's behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the amount of violence on TV and cinema has affected young people in our society is something which cannot be quantified or proved. My opinion is though that the answer is “yes, it has”. TV and cinema today do show a large amount of violence and, although we try and shield our young people from seeing too much, they still get to watch it. At the age of eighteen in my country, they can see everything anyway. Violence on the streets has increased. That has been proved. The connection between the TV and the cinema obsession with violence and today's street violence cannot be proved, but it is logical that the two are connected. Young people imitate what they see and it is logical that they see glamour in what they do when they commit violence. How can we lessen violence? Reducing the amount of violence on TV and in the cinema would certainly be a good start. Being more vigilant about what age children are when they see violence in these media, and raising the age limits would also help. Another good idea would be to channel the violence of young people. I don‛t think that national service should be re-established in this country but, if people are convicted of violence and sent to prison, then why not give them the option of serving in the army. Their violence will be controlled and they will be subjected to discipline so that they will be better able to control themselves when they leave. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that cinema and TV violence affects the young people in our society. There are some things that can be done to better the situation, but I doubt whether anything will be done.