Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is common these days to see some individuals working for themselves rather than being under the control of another person. This essay will explain the reason and also look at the drawbacks of this. Firstly, young people like to be independent. Although in all spheres of work, there are still elements and rooms for mentoring, but what school leavers suffer from their bosses are untold. A lot of abuses, shouting and even insults are some of the maltreatment that people suffer today while working under an organization. As a result of this, setting up a personal business is an alternative to this. Furthermore, there are lots of small scale loans that banks give people to start their businesses right away from college. For instance, the governor of Oyo State in Nigeria gave out a million nearer to each University graduate to start their own business and this has raised up young millionaires. The resultant effect of this is that they will continue to work for their private enterprises rather than government body. It is worthy of note that working for self rather than any organization has its own drawbacks. On the first note, there will not be room for development. If you are employed in a large firm or industry, there will be an opportunity to interact or learn what you do not know and become master of it. On the other hand, if you are alone, you will only operate based on your personal knowledge. The effect of this will be low output, which will cause less patronage of consumers. In conclusion, while seeking for true pleasure to be the boss of your own, you will do yourself a lot of good if you can also learn a craft under someone for some time before you stand on your own.