Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the social media has been invented, it has become a major platform for communication and people can keep themselves up to date with their lives and about their families and friends lives as well. But many people believe that, positing your personal information has potential risks. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages. However, social media has its risks. As people of all ages have access to social media, children are more prone and can easily expose to adult content and approached by strangers with unknown intentions such as paedophiles. Even if children are sure of who they are talking to, still it does not eliminate its dangers. For instance, cyber bullying, we heard about it in the news frequently. In addition to this, parents feel that their children are home and away from their bullies and are in the safest environment, but still at some point they are still bullied by their bullies on social media which sometimes disturbs the children mentally so badly that they end up committing suicide. On the other side, it has a lot of pros for the adults especially. Finding jobs is much easier because of social media these days. There are various websites which provide you are platform to choose your employer and employer can find skilled employees via these websites such as LinkedIn, Indeed, Zip recruiter. Furthermore, in today’s fast paced world communication with family and friends has become very easy due to social media. Also, people who live far away from their families such as in different countries or cities can talk to their families much easily with the help of WhatsApp, Facetime and Skype. However, if people are more aware while using and sharing their personal information on social media and only post respectful and respectable content, then definitely the advantages of social media outweighs the disadvantages. Finally, children and adults can easily be benefited from such technology.