In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Child labour is a controversial topic. People’s opinions range from categorizing it as completely immoral to encouraging such labour since children receive the opportunity to grow and become responsible themselves. In the following, this essay will elaborate both sides. In my opinion, child labour should be prohibited, since the risks, which children have to bear with at such a young age, are unacceptable. On the one hand, child labour can be beneficial because it gives them first insights into working life and could therefore help them in finding the right career or the right school to go to. For example, children working in a shop learn how to treat clients well and how to negotiate. So, child labour can be valuable for the small ones. On the other hand, most countries which employ child labour have weak human and labour standards. For instance, children are misused as mine workers in Kongo, exploited, not paid well and treated badly. Since the danger of exploiting a child ’s work force is very high and hard to control, such labour should be forbidden. Furthermore, if children had to work, they wouldn’t have time to go to school and lose the chance to get higher education and a better job. This results in a malicious circle with people getting stuck in low-paid, unrewarding jobs. For this reason, child labour is a wrong. In conclusion, child labour is a serious threat to the wellbeing and the future of every child and the potential advantages are minimal in comparison to the disadvantages. Consequently, I think that child labour should be prohibited.