Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Many varied forms of examination are being applied such as formal paper exams, exams on a computer or oral exams. Although some people believe that pen and paper exams are not effective in assessing educational achievement, I personally believe that exam type should be decided with regards to the student profile. For nearly a decade, paper exams have been mostly replaced by computer-assisted exams or oral exams, which give test takers flexibility and comfort. For example, IELTS, International English Language Testing System is an internationally recognized exam offering different types as paper based or computer delivered which make it easier to choose the type that test takers are confident with. In fact, even a paper based version of as IELTS involve two kinds of evaluation depending on printed test and a speaking exam making the test available for people with different expression styles. It is true that every person has his/her own way of learning. Similarly, when it is time to prove their learnings, the style for each person could possibly vary. To me, paper -based exams are safe and mostly available for people who can express themselves in writing. A recent research conducted by the British Education Council has stated that only one fourth of test takers are capable of expressing themselves in a paper based exam. Additionally, one fourth of the attendants, state that they find it more comfortable to take an exam orally. Surprisingly, the rest two forths of them maintain that they get higher scores on a computer based type. That shows the necessity of offering variations in exam types to address more people. In conclusion, despite the fact that many test takers are offered only pen and paper exam, it is significant to consider varied styles for a variety of people.