Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think that it has made him less social. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is often argued that people are becoming more socially active with the emergence of the internet and technology, while others feel that they have become less sociable. This essay will discuss both the views and argue that people have become more sociable with the advent of modern technology; followed by a reasoned conclusion. In this day and age, social media is ubiquitous and bring people closer who are living in numerous countries around the globe. Some social networking sites, such as Facebook help people to make new friends online and talk to someone they have never met before. Furthermore, there are some groups on these websites which allow anyone to join the discussion and share their ideas with others. A recent survey exhibits that more than 40% of the world’s population confirmed that with the help of such sites, it is possible to contact old friends they have lost contact with, after schools or colleges. Therefore, it is evident that people have become friendlier using net. This argument is further weakened by the fact that society as a whole is becoming disjointed and fragmented. Despite staying active on the web, people spend less time with their family and relatives. Nowadays, people spend more time in chatting online alone in their rooms, which can lead to isolation. For example, a research done in Canada, by the Times Magazine showed that every year more than 45% of the teenagers fight problems like depression. Hence, people should use internet to some extent and must ensure that it does not become an obsession. In conclusion, although people face alienation from their loved ones due to excessive usage of net, one cannot hide from the fact that technology has proven to be more beneficial in bringing people together. It is recommended that local communities should organise gatherings and events where people can spend time with each other.