Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

In the past, old generation were more contended and fit as they used to participate in more physical pursuits and devote a considerable amount of time to loved ones. On the other hand, nowadays, the youngsters are dealing with isolation and health related issues. This essay will discuss that the excessive usage of the internet and technology is the main reason behind this problem and suggest that having more physical education classes in schools is a viable solution to this issue. In this day and age, with the advent of modern technology, over-reliance of people on the internet and labour saving machines is the primary cause of people suffering from loneliness and health problems like obesity. In the past, most of the work was done manually, such as household chores, due to which people were more fit and healthy. Whereas today, people are spending more hours on their cell phones and social media during their free time rather than doing some exercise and playing sports. Earlier, people used to go out for shopping with their friends and spent time with them, but now, they can do online shopping in few seconds without leaving their homes. Hence, this alienation of people from their family and friends may cause depression and anxiety. Despite this, the be all and end all solution to this issue is to have more sports and exercise in the school curriculum. If the Government incorporates more physical fitness classes in educational institutions, then students will be obliged to partake in outdoor activities and games. Moreover, at home parents should encourage their kids to play outside with their friends rather than indulging in video games. For instance, a large number of online matches take place daily and millions of teenagers around the globe participate in such tournaments. Therefore, youth should be motivated to meet and talk to their friends in person instead of online. In conclusion, spending more hours on social media and playing online games will have a detrimental effect on the health of people. It is recommended that nations should conduct public awareness campaigns to educate citizens about the benefits of staying fit and healthy.