Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree. What other measures do you think might be effective

Environmental pollution is a challenge battled by most countries all over the world. Some people are of the opinion that raising the tariffs on petrol is the most effective method of tackling the problem of increasing traffic and pollution. I totally disagree with this view, as other measures such as reduction in the use of private cars and creating transport systems that does not use fossil fuel are better productive techniques of curtailing traffic congestion and pollution. First, increasing the value of petrol in order to control traffic and environmental pollution is counterproductive as the result of this action might not be significant when compared to other means such as reducing the rate at which people use personal cars. This is because, the purchase of petrol will still be on-going irrespective of the price, as there are other ways by which this inflation can be compensated. For example; In the year 2002, when the price of fuel was inflated in Lagos the report of traffic problems was still the same as when fuel price was subsidize in 1999. However, it was noticed that cost of commodities increased significantly. Thus, it is clear that increasing the price of fuel have no serious correlation to controlling traffic jams. However, there are other vital means of dealing with traffic and pollution that are productive. Firstly, Reducing the use of personal vehicles has proven to be one of the most effective ways to tackle traffic and pollution. For instance, if government should mandate the use of public transportation and also creating regulations that bind the use of private cars on the flexibility of usage, this will greatly lead to a decline in the number vehicles that appear on the road, which will lead to reductions in the emission of fumes that causes depletion of the ozone layer. Also, creating other means of transport such as railways which can convey a large group number of people at a time is another effective way of reducing traffic. In conclusion, innovation of other transporting system and regulative the use of cars are better techniques of controlling traffic and pollution. Thus, this should be implemented.