LANGUAGE 1. Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is true that the number of the languages around the world is diminishing every year. Although, the growing popularity of English and the ease of life associated with it, makes the people think that the extinction of some smaller languages is not something to worry about, I strongly disagree with this point of view. In my opinion, the humanity faces two main negative aspects of this development, such as the cultural and the practical ones. Firstly, there is a cultural aspect bound to the obliteration of the languages in danger, because each language is associated with a part of human culture and which presents a huge humanitarian tragedy. Moreover, every language carries own cultural code, which encrypts both a psychology and a philosophy of a nation's spirit as well as its history. For example, through the languages one can study not only the culture of a particular ethnicity, but also its economic and social achievements. As a result, when a language dies somewhere on the planet we loose a part of the human nature everywhere. On the other hand, one cannot underestimate the practical side stemming from the usage of the single international language everywhere, such as the international trade, the economic relations, the tourism and the medicine. However, there are practical values stemming from the use of the rare languages. For instance, the US army had widely used some of the dying Indian languages to secure information processing between the army's units. Therefore, there is some practical value in keeping the disappearing languages alive. In conclusion, even though the growing usage of English as the world's lingua Franca has many positive effects on the people's life, it is very important to preserve the smaller languages. The extinction of some minor languages worsens the world civilization and deprives it from many practical benefits.