Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which type of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Many people argue about the right age for the retirement, according to some, it should be same for all, while others are of the opinion that the profession of an individual should be the criteria to choose the retirement age. In my opinion, for those who works in the industries which demand a high level of physical and mental work should be given early retirement and in this essay, I will provide arguments and examples to support my view. Firstly, the idea of standard retirement age for all professionals is certainly flawed. This is because different jobs require different skills. For example, people working in a police department are demanding to have high physical fitness, but since fitness levels decrease with age, they should be given early retirement. Secondly, some job requires a high level of concentration and as age increases the ability to focus on one thing for hours decreases. For example, commercial pilots, they have to stay focused for hours and since attention spans tend to decrease as people age, they cannot be allowed to work into their 60's. Likewise there are many sectors in which people should get early retirement; for example Defence sector, construction and mine worker as their job is physically very challenging. Moreover, drivers and security guards have mentally stressful jobs and hence their retirement age should also be decreased To conclude, a set retirement age for all is not feasible and people working in industries that demand higher level of physical and mental fitness should be given an early retirement. In my opinion, government should consider the nature of the job before deciding the retirement age of any sector.