Some people in developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibility towards protecting the environment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Different opinions exist regarding the degree of responsibility of nations to fight for our nature. One side attributes more responsibility to developed nations, while the other side promotes equal duties for everyone. This essay will discuss both sides. In my opinion, all nations should face equal responsibility. However, differences in economic power and resources should be kept in mind. Firstly, developed countries should have a greater responsibility to combat climate change because they have greater economic means. This means that they can finance greater and more efficient projects than less developed countries. Besides, their economy will not suffer as much from introducing climate measures, such as CO2 taxes, simply because it is more mature and resistant to change. Additionally, developed nations emitted more greenhouse gases in the past and should therefore take a bigger role in fixing the environmental damages their activities caused. So why should countries rather be equally accountable for taking measures to protect the climate? One major point is that every contribution to fight environmental pollution counts. In other words, saving 100 tons of emissions has the same effect on our nature, whether they are saved in Germany or in Cambodia. For this reason, responsibility should be equally faced. Moreover, it is not logical to categorize nations when all of them face a global problem as well as worldwide consequences. In addition, taking responsibility to convert to a green economy is not a burden, but rather as a great opportunity to introduce new and advanced technologies. In conclusion, there are reasonable justifications for both perspectives concerning balancing responsibility in regard to fighting for the climate. Overall, I think that each nation should contribute its fair share since every single action will count if we want to avoid a climate catastrophe from happening.