Some people believe that sports subjects should be removed from school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that sports subjects should not be taught in schools. Although this is true to some extent, it is my belief that the benefits of having physical subjects in the syllabus are greater. Clearly, there are some reasons why schools should get rid of the physical subjects. Due to the lacking of the number of sports which can be taught in school, most students are forced to do some certain sports which are not their favourites and this in turn has a negative impact on students’ sport spirit. Furthermore, students’ health could also be in danger when the majority of the school sports facilities tend to be not in high, standard and the medical staffs are likely to be less well- trained. However, I would argue that these drawbacks are less significant than the benefits. A number of students now are leading a sedentary life, and thus having sports subjects in school timetables will be more likely to encourage students to become more active. From a health perspective, students can reach their full potential if they have a strong body and a clear mind, which they could gain from physical education. A rise in the interaction between young players could also be achieved by doing sports together, and this is highly beneficial because students can build a stronger bond of friendship. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential advantages of teaching sports as a subject in the school curriculum outweigh the disadvantage