Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that the fresh water shortage is no more a local problem but a global crisis. Although the worldwide rise of demand has caused this crisis, the solutions are available to deal with the situation. This essay deals with the causes of fresh water shortages and its solutions. Firstly, the increased population has increased the demand of fresh water. The rise in human population has expanded more cities and households. AS a result, the usages of fresh water in household purposes has increased. Secondly, some industries also use fresh water for their production purpose. This leads to more wastages of this resource. Finally, the expansion of cities has created more demand for fresh water. For instance, the more people lead to more households, which in turn results in more demand for household purposes such as cleaning of utensils, cooking, toilet and bathing. Both government and individuals should implement the possible solution. In one way, the Government can do better the water management, such as installing smart meters, controlling water wastage and installation of recycled water unit. On another way, individuals can save more water by optimizing usage and reducing water wastage. Moreover, recycling and water management should become an important point in the society. For example, rainwater harvesting can provide a good solution. Additionally, Government can install a water -recycling unit to utilize wastewater. In conclusion, water shortage can be solved by active participation of the Government and society. The Government can save water on a large scale by optimizing water usages and rainwater harvesting. On the other hand, Individuals can also actively participate in doing so.