In number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that this money should be spent on improving public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A Good Transportation system is essential for the masses. It is argued by some, that more money should be used in building new railway lines for fast moving trains to enable transit between cities. However, others believe that this money should be allocated in developing public transport. Both sides of the argument will be discussed, before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. On the one side, a major reason why more funds should be spent on constructing new rails for fast trains is because, it will help decongest traffic burden on major roads. Most cities are often over populated, as a result of the job opportunities available there; with many people moving up and about for their daily activities, they will have to either use their private cars or public buses; hence, the traffic burden increasingly becomes overwhelming. Therefore, with the availability of new fast trains, individual can conveniently and easily get to their facilities in time. On the other side, people who believe that instead of building new railways, the money should be diverted in improving public transport; they argue so because, not everyone is comfortable using the fast moving trains. It has been recorded in Germany, that 50 percent of people who use fast moving train, come down with motion sickness. Additionally, public means is important for people in rural areas to convey goods to places where trains cannot penetrate. What's more is that, the maintenance of trains is more expensive compared to the regular transport system, as seen in Germany; the country spends about 40million dollars to keep the train system active, whereas, a quarter of that amount is used to manage the others. For these reasons, Transportation for the masses should be a main focus of development. In Summary, although people believe that more finance should be spent on the building fast trains to ease traffic, I believe that public movement Should not be ignored but equally developed to help reach locations where trains cannot reach.