Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What are the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, despite the demerits of being self employed, many people would rather work for themselves than working for firms and organizations. This current trend can be attributed to the unhealthy job environment and lack of job satisfaction. To begin with, unhealthy work environment is a major reason why most people prefer working for themselves. This is because the goal of many big organizations is to make profit, and as a result, they put their workers under pressure. Therefore, employees are compelled to put up extra hours and even take their jobs, home; all these at the expense of their health and well being. In addition, Job satisfaction is a major concern for most workers. People believe that, if they toil for themselves, they can optimally utilize their skills, rather than working for companies where their abilities are grossly undermined. For example, during a survey, 90% percent of small market entrepreneurs responded that, they left their jobs and decided to start their own businesses; because, they were not given roles where they could express their abilities. These reasons explain why people would work for themselves instead of getting paid jobs. Nevertheless, being an entrepreneur is not devoid of being disadvantaged; An example, is the financial burden. For any personal business to thrive, there is a need to finance basic amenities. Such as office space, power, tax tariffs etc. Most entrepreneurs end up in financial debts due to insufficient funds; Futhermore, lack of structure could affect small business owners. Unlike Cooperate Organizations where they have structures and personnels delegated with responsibilities. Entrepreneurs are solely in charge of all decisions of the business. Therefore, if there are no goals and structures in place; such businesses are likely to go into Oblivion. In conclusion, although there are benefits of working for oneself, however, the cons, such as financial pressure and lack of a corporate structure should be considered before any individual ventures in it.