Social media has replaced the traditional method of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and follow news and events. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

For the past two decades, technological inventions have greatly changed the world. There has been a transformation from conventional communicating methods to the use of digital technology for updates of events happening around the world. Though this gradual movement has many disadvantages like addiction to social media and lack of connections among people, the benefits of easy access to information, long distance communication and instant response have outweighed the downsides. The use of the internet and smartphones has several negative consequences on people and the society. One such demerit is that the control of social media applications on its users is rapidly increasing. To illustrate, youngsters are highly addicted to phone applications like Whatsapp and Facebook messenger for constant chatting with their friends instead of concentrating on their academic studies. Another potential disadvantage is the lack of relationship building and personal relations of people with each other. For instance, in most of the family gatherings like weddings and parties, everyone is seeing scrolling the news feed of Facebook or Instagram instead of having meaningful conversations with the people at these occasions. Despite of the detrimental effects of digital ways of interaction, there are significant advantages of this method. One important merit is that it has made it possible to obtain updates from anywhere with just once click. To exemplify, the users of twitter applications post live statistics on traffic situations of the most common routes and important highways which helps vehicle drivers to accordingly choose their paths and avoid the traffic jam. Another crucial benefit is the possibility of long distance interactions. For example, with the aid of the Whatsapp calling feature, it is possible to talk for long hours with relatives who are overseas which generally costed a fortune with traditional methods. The most obvious advantage is the time and speed of the delivery of messages to another person through this medium of communication. In other words, in a fraction of second, one can inform his or her closed ones about urgent situations or tragedies which was rarely possible through old means of conversing. To recapitulate, even though there is a bad influence of the usage of social media for interacting with people, the benefits certainly overcome this negative aspect.