Some people think that all children should learn geography in school. However, some others think that it is more important to learn subjects that are more relevant to life. What is your opinion?

It is true that children should learn subjects that are important in life, but I differ with those who think that the other subjects like geography are not to be taught to children. Knowledge is absorbed best while at a tender age and that might be the reason for it to spark an interest in the subject and it might as well reflect on the child's future unknowingly. First of all teaching the subjects like geography to children at a younger age has a huge impact on how they model their future. This kind of introduction to the topic at such a tender age sparks an interest in children, which in turn may lead them to be specialists in their respective field. For example, if geography wasn't taught by Neil Degress Tyson while he was in school, he might not have developed an interest in astronomy and physics. His contribution in the field has led to great developments in terms of his field and have reflected onto other fields of study. Furthermore, teaching children subjects similar to geography leads them to have a better General Knowledge. It is one thing to be successful in life just because of your skill, whereas being someone who is devoid of basic knowledge is not a person who can succeed in life as much as he would have if he had the knowledge. For instance, if you are a successful businessman and don't know the geographical divisions in which your business might flourish, then you are at a disadvantage compared to your competitors. In conclusion, I would like to say that all children should learn subjects such as Geography as they might develop an interest in that subjects or it might be useful to them without their knowledge.