Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption while others think that it is individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views

Consumption of sugary products often leads to obesity. While some believe that the government has to play a crucial role in regulating their consumption, others often believe that it is the responsibility of an individual to be aware of a healthy nutrition. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail. Firstly, usage of sugary drinks can be discouraged by imposing heavy taxes on them by governments. The addition of higher taxes on a product would increase its retail price and thereby cause a financial bottleneck to the customer. For example, taxing products like coca-cola, which is often treated to be the cause of obesity, would let customers to select drinks that are healthy. On the supporting side, government can provide additional subsidies for healthy choices, encouraging the customer to include them in their grocery shopping. For instance, subsiding foods like avocados would promote higher sales and thereby provide the consumer with a healthy alternative. Therefore, administration role is vital in regulating how sugary foods get to the users. However, the responsibility of eating a healthy foods lie with the end customer.People opting for healthy foods are less prone to health problems. Moreover, reducing daily sugar intake has been one of the key factors of reduced cholesterol as per a recent study conducted by the FDA. To illustrate, diseases like diabetes, heart attack is reduced by the intake of healthy diet low in sugars. In addition to diet, active lifestyle promotes the positive body mass index and thereby reduces obesity. For instance, one who exercises regularly has optimal weight when compared to someone who doesn't. Hence, a healthy food recipe and active style promote overall well-being. In conclusion, although the government has a role to play in restricting access to sugary foods, it is the equal responsibility of the consumer to make healthier choices.