Technology has made man more social or less social Discuss both views and give opinion

If technology has made people more connected or less, is a topic that is often argued upon. While most people think that technology disconnects people, I am of the strong opinion that it brings people closer. To begin with, there is a little merit in the argument that people indulge in devices and gadgets to an extent that human contact is minimized a little. People tend to get so immersed in their virtual circle that they forget their immediate, real world. For example, it is a common sight in restaurants where a family that is sitting on a table, are all so engrossed in their phones that they are not talking to each other. Products like cell phones do tend to distant people and make them a little unsocial However, that's just one side of the story. A lot of inventions in the area of communication have enabled us to connect to humans beyond our geographies. One gets to connect and interact with people across the globe, based on common past like same school or colleges; or shared interests like trekking or music. Without the advent of social media, it would have been impossible to get in touch with your school friends who are now settled in London. Consider, for an example, web portals like Facebook and WhatsApp have helped billions of people stay in touch with their friends, family and even strangers who you share interests with. It opens a whole new world for us and gives us access to a wide range of social activities. To conclude, while the point that technology has distanced people a bit does hold a little truth, my strong opinion is it has brought people closer, thereby making man more social.