Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the supermarkets across the globe are pursuing various novel marketing strategies to enhance their business which affects the local markets and could not rival. People are of the opinion that shutting down of local markets would lead to the decline of local groups. I disagree with this viewpoint because supermarket sales are not a threat to local retail. The chain stores always try to implement new schemes to attract people with their latest trends, which in that people purchase from shops. However, the perception of local trade being affected by supermarkets is incorrect, because public always visit nearby local retail markets for their products for distance and availability. Indeed, it is true that people prefer showcasing of products, but they have no time to visit supermarkets at a distant place. In addition to the above stated facts many supermarkets experience a decline in sales because the expenditure of articles in local stores is lesser. People would not prefer spending more money on the items they buy. For instance, in my locality we have an open-air market and supermarket where vegetables are sold in both the places, still the people prefer open-air markets to supermarkets because of availability, cost. In conclusion, the local markets and local communities will never disappear into its existence rather it has been increasing day by day in sales wise as well as expansion wise.