Nowadays we see an increase in social problems involving teenagers. Many people believe that it is because parents spend more time at work and less with their children. Do you agree or disagree?

The modern world is seeing a rise in the number of social problems involving teenagers. A lot of people attribute this problem to the fact that parents work for long hours and consequently spend less time with their children. This is certainly a factor causing the social issues, but there are more causes of such problems. The corporate culture these days demands people to work for long hours to meet their key responsibilities and rise up the corporate ladder. Due to this, people end up spending less time with their family, making the children a little distant from them. The children, being distant, miss out on learning some important life skills such as empathy in their lives, leading them to cause certain problems socially. For instance, children who do not spend enough quality time with their parents are often found quite aloof at school. Thus, it is quite important that parents maintain a healthy work-life balance and spend some valuable time with their kids. Despite the fact that not being with children enough is a problem, it is also worth noticing that there are some bigger issues to address when it comes to raising the kids. Parents these days make sure that they provide every comfort for their children even before the child asks for it. Since the kids get what they want without even striving for it, they do not realise its worth, and generally end up taking things for granted. This not only makes the children greedy, but also makes them impatient, leading to some of the most common social problems. For example, the impatience in the teenagers is one of the biggest causes of traffic jams on roads these days. It is therefore important that the patience and humility are some of the crucial life-skills that parents must teach their children. Raising children with the right values is very important to make a healthy society. This essay discussed that while it can be good for the parents to spend quality time with their kids, it is more important to inculcate the right values in them so as to ensure that their children do not create troubles to the society they live in.