Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food and its related products have been moving from thousands of kilometres away to meet the market demands for centuries. It is argued that eating local farmer's produced vegetables, rice and wheat will be better for the ecosystem and the local economy. This essay totally disagrees with the statement because small community agriculture cannot produce all types of food which may create harm to health. Moreover, exporting valuable crops can be a way of earning foreign currency. Most often some areas are fertile for a certain types of crops and sometimes they do not make balance in the food chain. Lands and soil have their won characters and agricultural products are mostly depending on these. In addition, sometimes weather plays a vital role in it too. For example, rice and jutes grow in plenty in Bangladesh because of the wet soil and monsoon flood. Where as Bangladesh cannot plant strawberry or apple and the reason behind is the weather. If there is no tread of food, there will be an imbalance of the food chain in all over the world and people will suffer various health problems. Exporting local products in different countries boost the local economy with foreign currency. If one country grows lots of sugar, they can export it which will help to buy other material and might have savings of money. For instance, we could talk about Honey from New Zealand. Their Manakau honey is tasty, delicious and organic and they earn lots of currency by exporting it. However, raw food exporting might have some difficulties if the packs are not sealed properly. It could get contaminated with bacteria and lose the market value. In conclusion, trading on crops and agricultural products are going all over the world. It goes one corner to another by different transportation methods which helps to keep the food chain intact and delivers all vitamins in our body. It is predicted that, in the future there will be more business on food and perishable goods for income more money.